Established in 2003

Ninth Letter is the award-winning literary arts journal edited and produced by the Creative Writing Program at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. The journal’s mission is to present original literary writing of exceptional quality, illuminated by cutting-edge graphic design.

Work published in Ninth Letter has been selected for many awards anthologies such as Best American Nonrequired Reading, Best American Poetry, The Pushcart Prize, Best American Short Stories, Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror, Best Creative Nonfiction, Best New Fantasy, Best New Poets, Best of the Net, and New Stories from the Midwest. During a decade-plus collaboration with the UIUC School of Art + Design, the journal also received many national and international awards for graphic design, and was featured in the design awards annuals of both STEP Inside Design and HOW Magazine. In 2005 Ninth Letter was named Best New Literary Journal by the Council of Learned Journals, an affiliate of the Modern Language Association.

In addition to our dedication to literary and artistic excellence, Ninth Letter also maintains a strong commitment to our role in the UIUC Creative Writing curriculum. Graduate and undergraduate students in English and Creative Writing have the opportunity to enroll in editing and publishing courses in which they gain hands-on experience in editorial work. Students who have completed the Ninth Letter courses have gone on to career success in commercial, academic, and literary publishing, thanks in part to their experience working with Ninth Letter.



Liz Harms

Creative Nonfiction Editor:
Christopher Kempf

Poetry Editor:
Corey Van Landingham

Fiction Editor:
Amy Hassinger

Web Editors: 
Michael Hurley, Zachary McVicker

Associate Poetry Editor:
Zach Simon, Matthew Fash

Associate Fiction Editor:
Jason Pfister, Nina Sannes

Associate Creative Nonfiction Editor:
Andrea Sielicki

Editorial Assistants:
Isabella Escamilla, David Foley, Gabriella Hoggatt, Carrie Johnson, Callan Latham, Justine Mercado, David Miller, Tyler Moore, Deon Robinson, Garrett Stack, Erin Stoodley, Hannah Thorpe

Assistant Editors:
Michael Hurley, Weston Morrow

Philip Graham, Jodee Stanley

Advisory Board:
Amy Sayre Baptista, Traci Brimhall, James Brunton, Lindsey Drager, Matthew Minicucci, Marcus Wicker