Winner: Zachary Hester, “Variations on a Theme by Oppenheimer,” “Coda Atop Wells-Fargo,” “Over the Bronze Mountain Lion in Boulder, CO,” and “Priscilla Huggable Atomic Mushroom”

Honorable Mentions: Garrett Sanford, “O. unilateralis” and Teresa Dzieglewicz, “By the Numbers: 1”

Creative Nonfiction

Ashley Farmer, “Animal Hours”

Honorable Mention: Catina Bacote, “Up North”


Pascha Sotolongo Stevenson, “The Moth”

Honorable Mentions: Amina Gautier, “Love Me Through a Hurricane” and Chetna Maroo, “Father’s Work”